You Know Me Better Than I Do

In written English, especially in a formal document such as a business letter or a school assignment, most native speakers believe that the subject pronouns I, he, she, we , and they are correct after than. Learner's Dictionary mobile search. Learner's Dictionary. Some people argue that than in the slogan No bunny knows Easter better than him is a preposition and, therefore, him is the correct pronoun.

Let's call them "prepositionists. Let's call them "conjunctionists. The conjunctionists believe the correct sentence would be No bunny knows Easter better than he.

Here's another example. Conjunctionists would argue that the sentences Aardvark likes Squiggly more than I and Aardvark likes Squiggly more than me are both correct but have entirely different meanings. You know me better than I know myself You know me the best You know me better than I know myself. How many years can we keep going on this way Too afraid, too much at stake Though I believe the friendship can survive Maybe you want if we do or we don't. Jan 29, AM.

Marie books view quotes. Jan 21, AM. Kayli Anne 51 books view quotes. Jan 01, AM. Sparkstriker7 0 books view quotes. Kari books view quotes. Dec 23, PM. Mashael 2, books view quotes. Dec 15, AM. Laura 13 books view quotes. Dec 11, AM. Diane 1, books view quotes.

Dec 09, AM. Dec 06, AM. Victoria 1, books view quotes. Anton books view quotes. Nov 29, PM. Debbie 2, books view quotes. Nov 24, AM. Paula books view quotes. Nov 18, AM. Crystal books view quotes. Nov 15, AM. Elena books view quotes. Nov 12, AM. Karen 33 books view quotes. Tuesday 2 June Thursday 4 June Friday 5 June Saturday 6 June Sunday 7 June Monday 8 June Tuesday 9 June Monday 15 June Tuesday 16 June Wednesday 17 June Friday 19 June Saturday 20 June Sunday 21 June Monday 22 June Tuesday 23 June Wednesday 24 June Thursday 25 June Friday 26 June Saturday 27 June Sunday 28 June Monday 29 June Tuesday 30 June Wednesday 1 July Thursday 2 July Friday 3 July Saturday 4 July Sunday 5 July Monday 6 July Tuesday 7 July Wednesday 8 July Thursday 9 July Friday 10 July Saturday 11 July Sunday 12 July Monday 13 July Barrie England Barrie England k 10 10 gold badges silver badges bronze badges.

I have downvoted all the answers and upvoted only yours, because only you got it correct. Great job, Barrie! This relates to english. CLDR Jul 1 '14 at If you don't, your sentences might get misinterpreted. Consider this example Sara likes cake more than she likes me.

If by that you mean 'You know more about this than me' is incorrect, then it seems from the 'Longman Grammar' evidence see my answer that most native speakers are speaking incorrectly.

Jul 11,  · A Grammar Rumble. Little did I know that I'd stumbled into a controversy that’s been hotly debated since the eighteenth century: Is than always a conjunction, or is it sometimes a preposition?Remember, a preposition is a word that combines with a noun or pronoun to form a phrase that modifies an object or action, as in the prepositional phrases before class, by the book, and behind .

8 Replies to “You Know Me Better Than I Do”

  1. Conversational English: Better than me. In everyday conversation, however, or in text messages and informal emails, most native speakers use the object pronouns me, him, her, us, and them (even if they tell you that they don’t), and if you say “better than I” many people will think that it sounds unnatural and awkward and possibly even.
  2. You know me better than I do You know me better than I do 'Cause now what, you know where I'm gonna stay And when I talk you know what I'm gonna say. The roof is coming down on me The rain is falling on my head Don't you know I long to be inside your bed. Help me sort out this mess The one that clutters up my mind Darling, I must confess, I'm.
  3. Aug 22,  · "You Know Me Better Than That" was the fourth track from George Strait's "Chill Of An Early Fall" album. It was released as George's 32nd single and bec.
  4. "Better than" is a proposition that is followed by an object. The pronouns used as objects are me, you, him, her, us, and them. Compare to "he is taller than me", "I am smarter than him", "they are like us". The object can also be a clause, which is a mini-sentence that has a subject of its own, like "I run faster than .
  5. Dec 05,  · 1) "You know him better than me." means "You know him better than you know me." and that 2) "You know him better than I." is short for "You know him better than I do." This distinction would be quite useful except for the fact that people just don't speak or write like this except in formal contexts. In informal English "You know him better.
  6. You give me all I ever needed Half a heart and you complete it Part of me I never knew, oh I'm only me because of you I'm only me because of you You know me better than I do I'm sayin' how I feel I'm just bein' real, yeah Baby, that's the truth I'm only me because of you I'm only me because of you You show me how to love my flaws, oh no.
  7. For You know better than I You know the way I've let go, the need to know why Cause You know better than I If this has been a test I cannot see the reason But maybe knowin', I don't know Is part of gettin through I try to do what's best And faith has made it easy To see the best thing I can do.
  8. Mar 31,  · You Know Me Better Lyrics: Me and you / Me and you / Me and you / Me and you / I think we've waited / Long enough, baby / You know me / Only too well / .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *