Lord Grenville - Al Stewart - Year Of The Cat (CD, Album)

One Stage Before. Broadway Hotel. Flying Sorcery. Sand in Your Shoes. Lord Grenville. Midas Shadow. One Stage Before - Remastered Version. Midas Shadow - Remastered Version. On The Border - Remastered Version. Lord Grenville - Remastered Version. Year Of The Cat. On The Border. Love Chronicles was notable for the minute title track, an anguished autobiographical tale of sexual encounters that was the first mainstream record release ever to include the word "fucking".

His third album, Zero She Flies , followed in and included a number of shorter songs which ranged from acoustic ballads and instrumentals to songs that featured electric lead guitar. In , Stewart and fellow musician Ian A. Anderson headed to the small town of Pilton, Somerset.

On the back of his growing success, Stewart released Orange in It was written after a tumultuous breakup with his girlfriend and muse, Mandi, and was very much a transitional album, combining songs in Stewart's confessional style with more intimations of the historical themes that he would increasingly adopt e. It echoed a traditional historical storytelling style and contained the song "Nostradamus," a long track in which Stewart tied into the rediscovery of the claimed seer 's writings by referring to selected possible predictions about 20th century people and events.

Such airplay helped the album to reach No. Stewart followed Past, Present and Future with Modern Times , in which the songs were lighter on historical references and more of a return to the theme of short stories set to music. Significantly, though, it was the first of his albums to be produced by Alan Parsons. In a highly positive retrospective review of Modern Times , AllMusic senior editor Stephen Thomas Erlewine described the album as "exquisite".

Erlewine wrote that the album "establishes Stewart's classic sound of folky narratives and Lennonesque melodies, all wrapped up in a lush, layered production from Alan Parsons. The production gives epics like the title track a real sense of grandeur that makes their sentiments resonate strongly. Modern Times produced Stewart's first hit single, "Carol". The album reached No. Stewart had all of the music and orchestration written and completely recorded before he had a title for any of the songs.

He mentioned in a Canadian radio interview that he has done this for six of his albums, and he often writes four different sets of lyrics for each song. While "24 Carrots" did produce a No.

After those releases, Stewart was dropped by Arista and his popularity declined. Despite his lower profile and waning commercial success, he continued to tour the world, record albums, and maintain a loyal fanbase. There was a four-year gap between his next two albums, the highly political Russians and Americans and the upbeat pop-oriented Last Days of the Century , which appeared on smaller labels and had lower sales than his previous works.

Stewart followed up with his second live album, the acoustic Rhymes in Rooms , which featured only Stewart and Peter White , and Famous Last Words , which was dedicated to the memory of the late Peter Wood co-writer of "Year of the Cat" , who died the year of its release. After parting ways with his longtime collaborator of almost 20 years, Peter White who was credited on every studio and live album between Year of the Cat and Famous Last Words and also served as his regular songwriting partner , Stewart joined with former Wings guitarist Laurence Juber to record a concept album, Between the Wars , covering major historical and cultural events from to , such as the Treaty of Versailles , Prohibition , the Spanish Civil War , and the Great Depression.

Juber produced the album, and went on to produce Stewart's subsequent studio albums. In , Stewart released Down in the Cellar , a concept album themed on wine. Stewart had begun a love affair with wine in the s when, he admitted, he had more money than he knew how to spend, [14] and so turned to fine wines. In , he released A Beach Full of Shells , which was set in places varying from First World War England to the s rock 'n' roll scene that influenced him.

In , he released Sparks of Ancient Light , produced, like his most recent albums, by Laurence Juber. A video for the song "Elvis at the Wheel" was released in December Al married Jill on September 12, Stewart also invited Morgan to read the poem at the Beverly gig on the same tour, whilst Stewart took a short break, and Morgan subsequently read another poem from his works as well.

I don't like repetition. OK, if you're really cynical, and you've written a new song, you'll probably want to call it "Hold On" because it gives you an extra edge. But at the same time it shows so little interest in originality that I can't actually listen to anything called "Hold On" at this point in my life. The cover design, by Hipgnosis and illustrator Colin Elgie, depicts a woman who has an apparent obsession with cats.

She can be seen in the mirror dressing up as a cat for a costume party , and all of the items on her dresser have feline motifs. Stewart used the same concept for the cover of his Greatest Hits album, but with most of the cat items replaced with references to his other singles.

Album — Billboard United States. From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia. For the cat in the Vietnamese zodiac, see Cat zodiac. For the song, see Year of the Cat song. Al Stewart. All music guide: the definitive guide to popular music. Wednesday 17 June Friday 19 June Saturday 20 June Sunday 21 June Monday 22 June Tuesday 23 June Wednesday 24 June Thursday 25 June Friday 26 June Saturday 27 June Sunday 28 June Monday 29 June Tuesday 30 June Wednesday 1 July Thursday 2 July Friday 3 July Saturday 4 July Sunday 5 July Monday 6 July Tuesday 7 July Wednesday 8 July Thursday 9 July Friday 10 July Saturday 11 July Sunday 12 July Monday 13 July Tuesday 14 July Wednesday 15 July Thursday 16 July Friday 17 July Saturday 18 July Sunday 19 July Monday 20 July Tuesday 21 July Wednesday 22 July Thursday 23 July Friday 24 July Saturday 25 July Sunday 26 July Monday 27 July Tuesday 28 July Wednesday 29 July Thursday 30 July Friday 31 July Saturday 1 August Sunday 2 August Monday 3 August Tuesday 4 August Wednesday 5 August Thursday 6 August Friday 7 August Saturday 8 August Sunday 9 August Monday 10 August

Listen free to Al Stewart – Year Of The Cat (Lord Grenville, On the Border and more). 9 tracks (). Year of the Cat is the seventh studio album by Al Stewart, released in It was produced and engineered by Alan Parsons. Its sales helped by the hit single "Year of the Cat", co-written by Peter Wood and described by Allmusic as "one of those 'mysterious woman' songs.

8 Replies to “Lord Grenville - Al Stewart - Year Of The Cat (CD, Album)”

  1. This is a classical Al Stewart historical folk-rock song, though more folk than rock. Richard Grenville was born in , and after a distinguished career as a soldier and explorer, he was appointed Vice Admiral of the Navy. In , he sailed for the Azores in pursuit of Spanish treasure but found himself outnumbered when his ship the Revenge became separated from the rest of the fleet.
  2. [Quotes from CD label:] "Manufactured in U.S.A. for Arista Records, Inc." [Quotes from liner notes:] "All selections written by Al Stewart and published by Dick James Music (BMI), with the exception of "Year Of The Cat" which was written by Al Stewart and Peter Wood and published by Dick James Music (BMI) and Pepper Music Inc. (ASCAP)/5(16).
  3. Al Stewart had found his voice on Past, Present & Future and found his sound on Modern chnagadardesema.lapnetptechycabolahaserukagols.co then perfected it all on 's Year of the Cat, arguably his chnagadardesema.lapnetptechycabolahaserukagols.co is no overarching theme here, as there was on its two immediate predecessors, but the impossible lushness of Alan Parsons' production and Stewart's evocative Continental narratives give the record a welcome feeling of 9/
  4. Year of the Cat is the seventh studio album by Al Stewart, released in It was produced and engineered by Alan chnagadardesema.lapnetptechycabolahaserukagols.co sales helped by the hit single "Year of the Cat", co-written by Peter Wood and described by AllMusic as "one of those 'mysterious woman' songs", the album was a top five hit in the United chnagadardesema.lapnetptechycabolahaserukagols.co other single from the album was "On the Border".
  5. Editors' Notes Though his intricate story-songs quickly won him a loyal following in Britain, it took Al Stewart nearly a decade before his music found an audience in America. He did it with "Year of the Cat," a beguiling account of exotic romance that became an unexpected hit in early Stewart's album of the same title didn't disappoint those looking for similarly intelligent and.
  6. Auf Discogs können Sie sich ansehen, wer an Black labels Vinyl von Year Of The Cat mitgewirkt hat, Rezensionen und Titellisten lesen und auf dem Marktplatz nach der Veröffentlichung suchen.
  7. Stewart followed up with his second live album, the acoustic Rhymes in Rooms (), which featured only Stewart and Peter White, and Famous Last Words (), which was dedicated to the memory of the late Peter Wood (co-writer of "Year of the Cat"), who died the year of its release.
  8. Al Stewart ‎– Year Of The Cat Label: Fame ‎– CD-FA , Fame ‎– CD - FA , EMI ‎– CDM 7 2, EMI ‎– CDPM /5.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *